PRISON FELLOWSHIP – GIVING A VOICE TO THE VOICELESS

Essay written for online magazine CultureHoney.com. Collaboration with Prison Fellowship®. Originally posted February 7, 2017.

Today, I can look past the prison walls to a world on the inside. It’s a world that shouldn’t be forgotten, populated with a people who need a voice.


PRISON FELLOWSHIP – GIVING A VOICE TO THE VOICELESS

At my desk at Prison Fellowship in northern Virginia, there’s an index card tacked to the wall of my cubicle. On it I’ve written a verse from the Scriptures:

Open your mouth for the mute,

For the rights of all the unfortunate.

Open your mouth, judge righteously,

And defend the rights of the afflicted and needy.

Proverbs 31:8-9, New American Standard Bible

It reminds me of why I’m here, and why I care about the incarcerated people of America.

Read More

Leave a Reply

