THIRD CULTURE KID: SAFE IN A 9/11 WORLD

Essay written for online magazine CultureHoney.com. Originally posted September 20, 2016. 

My dad then hurried into the living room and demanded the remote. I protested, but he just said, “Something’s happened,” in a strained voice.


THIRD CULTURE KID: SAFE IN A 9/11 WORLD

15 years ago, on a Tuesday night, I sat down to watch TV. I was a high school sophomore and a third culture kid (TCK) in Kazakhstan, and I had decided to take a break from my homework. The phone in the hallway rang, and I heard my father answer it. My dad then hurried into the living room and demanded the remote. I protested, but he just said, “Something’s happened,” in a strained voice.

Read More

Leave a Reply

